Geri L. Morgan Volunteer Award

Success in life has nothing to do with what you gain in life or accomplish for yourself.  It's what you do for others.
                                             -- Danny Thomas

In Memory of Geri L. Morgan

Geri Morgan was the consummate volunteer; one only needed to ask the staff at Sunset Canyon Elementary school in the early 2000’s.  A former elementary teacher with both a Master’s degree and a MBA, she was instrumental in developing a science program at Sunset Canyon.  In addition, she established and executed a science fair for the students.  This event was so noteworthy that today the science lab bears her name. 

Geri was also an active UPC member; she published its newsletter and followed legislation—long before UPC played a participatory role with the state legislature.  Most importantly, Geri was an advocate of public education.   A native Texan, she couldn’t quite understand Arizona’s seeming lack of interest in investing in its children. 
On August 4, 2005, the UPC delegation filled a long pew at Geri’s Memorial service.  They listened to Sunset Canyon’s principal deliver her eulogy.  They witnessed her son and her family’s struggle.  After that, UPC decided Geri Morgan epitomized the essence of UPC—volunteer, above self.
[Geri Morgan was killed in a one-car, rollover accident on the family’s return from a Flagstaff weekend in 2005.    An anonymous donor established the upfront money for the original award.]

In her memory, UPC established the Geri L. Morgan Volunteer Award to honor a volunteer for his or her outstanding service contributions to a school community.   The winner will receive a $100 donation to a school group or organization of his or her choice.

UPC wants to congratulate Twyla Otte, the 2016 Geri L. Morgan Volunteer Award recipient.  Twyla gives her time selflessly to Desert Springs Preparatory School and has done so for over 20 years.  She has played an instrumental role in the school’s Art Masterpiece program. Twyla not only runs this art program she trains additional volunteers to help. Each year Twyla creates an Art Master Portfolio for every child in the school. Twyla will be honored at the May 19th Governing Board meeting. We cannot think of a more deserving winner--Congratulations Twyla!


United Parent Council's annual Geri L. Morgan Award honors the strong example of service shown in life by late UPC member, Geri Morgan.  To view a slideshow of this year's nominees, click here. Twyla’s name will be added to the Geri Morgan Volunteer Award Legacy Plaque displayed at PVUSD's district offices.


Geri L. Morgan Award Recipients  

2016 Twyla Otte
2015 Aundi Parillo
2014 Christy Miller
2013 Colleen Amarillas
2012 Ed Tankersley
2011 Teri Harnisch
2011 Nancy Pool
2010 Bette and Julian Henriques
2010 Juana and John Fredrick
2009 Julie Tyree
2008 Laurie Smith
2007 Juana Fredrick
2006 Joan Morgan



Stay Informed



    Parents and students are invited to nominate a PVUSD teacher or staff member who has gone above and beyond for students. Nominations must be received by March 7, 2017.


    Save the date for UPC's annual LINC event, Tuesday February 28th 6-8 pm at Dave & Buster's Desert Ridge


    Don't miss the February Monthly Meeting and Educational Program on February 15, 2017. Our program will address Middle School preparation and the transition to high school. It will be presented by Koni Withers, PVUSD Lead Counselor.


    Join UPC and PVSchools Gifted Education and Special Education Departments for our March 29 Parent Seminar


    Send in your membership form for 2016-17 today!


    Don't miss next month's March General meeting on March 22, 2017. Our program will discuss the Truth About Vaping, presented by Shane Watson of notMYkid.

  • view all